Emails from Chuck

After my last post that referred to Chuck Currie and some of his false teachings, he responded to an email containing one of my comments.  It became quite entertaining.   Seriously, I’d love to see him be honest and apologize someday.  I think it would do him good.  I wouldn’t gloat, I’d just accept it.  But some people won’t admit wrongdoing no matter what the evidence.  I see it all the time at work when the investigator on my team is interviewing suspects.  Once they are on record with a lie they’ll dig in their heels defending it despite overwhelming evidence against them.

It is good to remember what he’s like when he blasts Christians for being pro-real marriage and pro-life and saying that we need to repent of the sins of holding those positions.

You can click on the first link to see the original comments from him and me.  My last comment was this one, and the email thread takes off from there:

Hey “Rev.,”

Another option you have would be to actually address the claim in my post instead of just launching into your usual personal attacks.

Why is that you teach that Jesus is not the only way to salvation, especially when the NT teaches that truth about 100 times?

Why do you teach that we have as much to learn from other religions as they do from us, when the whole Bible couldn’t be more clear that you are wrong?

The email thread:

Chuck

What happened to cause your heart to be so hard?  Really, let it go.  Let the hate and judgement go.   The love of Jesus is there for us all.  I don’t get the feeling that you’re a bad person but that you’ve somehow been hurt.  Life doesn’t have to be as hard as you make it.  Let the light in.

Neil

Chuck, you are too funny. It is almost as if you think that by sending these silly emails that I’ll say, “Golly, Chuck is so nice. Why did I think he was such a hypocritical liar?”

But of course you know that I know your little secret. You are a transparent liar and far too proud to admit it. When you were getting bested in a debate you took the easy way out and falsely accused me of leaving comments that were racist, sexist, homophobic and with offensive language. You thought you were so clever. After all, who would ever know you were lying . . . except you, me and God (the real one, not the one you teach about).

But as with great literature like the Telltale Heart, Crime and Punishment and MacBeth, I hope that you are haunted by your duplicity. Maybe then you’ll stop doing such things.

I am really a softy at heart. I’m quick to forgive. In fact, I forgave you of your sin of lying about me long ago. I just want to teach you a lesson so you won’t do it to someone else. It is that “love your neighbor” thing that I try to employ at all times – i.e., if I really love my neighbor I’ll try to prevent Chuck from libeling them.

You see, I focus on the real agape love that has the other person’s long term best interests at heart. I don’t worry about being popular and loved by the world, so I’m not afraid to tell the whole story about the real Jesus. I don’t use the fake kind of “love” that you do, where you tell people that abortions and homosexual behavior are OK, and where you think that it is generous of you to take other people’s money via taxes to fund your pet projects. I’m one of those old fashioned types who gives out of his own pocket.

You aren’t fooling me, Chuck. I can only surmise that you are trying to fool yourself.

Oh, and spare me the “Jesus talk.” We both know that you teach the opposite of what He does.

Chuck

No, I really think you can be turned from the Dark Side.  You just haven’t let God into your heart yet

Neil

The “Dark Side?” Really now. Tell me then, how does repeated, unrepentant libel fit into the “bright side?”

And I didn’t realize it was a requirement to “let God into my heart.” Does Hinduism teach that? Islam? Etc.? You know, the religions that have as much to teach Christians as we have to learn from them? Got any verses for your assertion?

I am saved because I repented and believe that Jesus rose from the dead. I trust in him for my salvation. He is the only way.

Chuck

All you offer is hate.  So opposite from Jesus.

Neil

Did Jesus have anything to say about lying?

I do hate sin, that is true.

And truly Chuck, you say that “all” I have to offer is hate? I know a “few” people who would disagree with that hyperbole.

And since Jesus is one of many options, why do you even bring him up? If you think I’m not saved, why not offer up any old religion? Why are you being bigoted against them in private when publicly you’re such a pluralist?

Chuck

I’ve given you more than enough of my time today but I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Neil

You might try repenting when you pray. And not just for libeling me. That’s small potatoes. You should repent of all the lies you’ve told about Jesus and then commit to speaking the truth.

Just sayin’.

You’d think that if Chuck had any evidence — anything! — proving that I left comments at his site with “racist, sexist, homophobic” and “offensive language” that he’d offer it up.  Yet here we are.  Why be surprised that a false teacher would make false statements?

Postscript: After this was originally posted I got this email from Chuck. Consistency isn’t his strong suit.

Since you published what I thought was a private exchange between the two of us I’ve blocked your e-mail address. You’ll not be able to communicate with me in this way again. Really, I pity you for your beliefs and actions. You are free to share that with your readers.

Chuck, that’s odd that you would be offended, considering that I applied your policy about publishing emails, located in the upper left hand corner of your blog:

E-Mail sent to my address may be published.

Chuck, you pity my beliefs? The ones that say Jesus is the only way to salvation?

Chuck, you pity my actions? Please explain why any of my actions are to be pitied above yours, which involve serial unrepentant libel?

I pity you, but I really pity those who you mislead with your lies.

14 thoughts on “Emails from Chuck

  1. WOW! I looked over Chuck’s site and he is one liberal individual. Christian? I don’t think he understands the Christian faith at all. Then again, the denominations he cites as “mainline” are all very liberal with the exact philosophy as his. Go figure.

    False teachers like Chuck are why apologetics ministries are so very important. Keep up the good work of exposing him and his ilk.

  2. This is kind of off topic, but I love that you mentioned The Telltale Heart and Crime and Punishment! I love reading the classics and am always looking for people that also enjoy it. I’d love to put an online reading group together sometime.

    I am reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn right now, then I am moving on to C.S. Lewis’ The Pilgrim’s Regress. Anyone interested in picking up a copy and starting a reading group?

  3. lonewolf

    I’m not much on reading groups, but I think I will pick up a copy.

    thanks for mentioning it.

  4. I got this email from Chuck. Consistency isn’t his strong suit.

    Since you published what I thought was a private exchange between the two of us I’ve blocked your e-mail address. You’ll not be able to communicate with me in this way again. Really, I pity you for your beliefs and actions. You are free to share that with your readers.

    Chuck, that’s odd that you would be offended, considering that I applied your policy about publishing emails, located in the upper left hand corner of your blog:

    E-Mail sent to my address may be published.

    Chuck, you pity my beliefs? The ones that say Jesus is the only way to salvation?

    Chuck, you pity my actions? Please explain why any of my actions are to be pitied above yours, which involve serial unrepentant libel?

    I pity you, but I really pity those who you mislead with your lies.

  5. Pingback: Loving your enemies, false teacher style « Eternity Matters

  6. Pingback: Fake pastor quits pretending « Eternity Matters

So, what do you think?

