Roundup

When worldviews collide: Nanny state Government Agencies Want to Reshape the “Obesogenic Environment” – but wait!! — Atheism as a major cause of obesity? So is the cure for government to encourage religion?

Sex & sociology — New study finds that feminism does not empower women in relationships

If he can get to the “business” with just one or two dinners with Martha, why would he commit to 20 dates and “maybe” Mary?

Regnerus told The Daily Caller that in the sexual economy women act almost like a cartel. At one time the price of sex was extremely high, but with the demise of the shotgun wedding, the invention of “the pill” and a population of willing women, the “price” of sex has plummeted.

Video: The most shocking 4-minute abortion debate you will ever see – Oh my.  I have a strong stomach and I could only watch a few seconds.  It has a chilling mix of an abortion clinic advertisement (telling you to bring only “love” – ack!) with video of abortions.  Hey all you pro-legalized abortionists: Your homework assignment is to watch all of it. These procedures are legal because of you.

Biggest Out of Context Pet Peeve: Matthew 18:20 – my biggest peeve is the misuse of Jeremiah 29:11, but I see the point here.

Out of all my pet peeves when it comes to verses taken out of context, Matthew 18:20 ranks at the top.  The verse says, “For where two or three are gathered in my name, there I am among them.”

Let me tell you what it does not mean.  It does not mean that Jesus is more present or more gracious when a group gathers for prayer. If you believe that, you 1) have never read the passage, and 2) are wrong.

. . .

Jesus is teaching his disciples about church discipline. In the context, verse 20 means that when Jesus’ disciples agree on a matter of church discipline concerning an unrepentant church member, Jesus will be divinely present among them as they seek Christ-like unity and wisdom in making  their decision.

Christopher Hitchens and the Edge of Boredom – interesting analysis of a guy who should have been one of the last people on the planet to ever get bored.  Yet he turned to alcohol because things just weren’t interesting enough.  Too bad he is still rebelling against God.

Think carefully about the situation in Egypt, then ask yourself if you want your government to have more power to regulate or even shut down the Internet.

I couldn’t figure out why the Left wasn’t out in full force blaming the Dearnborn Mosque attack on Sarah Palin and blathering on about civility.  Then I read this and realized why: Would-be Dearborn Mosque attacker anti-Bush felon.

Something tells me that the Left will be oh-so-silent on this one and that they are very sad that he wasn’t a TEA Partier.

 

8 thoughts on “Roundup

  1. Matt. 18:20 is one of my pet peeves also, but I haven’t addressed it yet. Those I have addressed on my blog are some of my top pet peeves for being misused, and Jer. 29:11 is right there with them, as are Exodus 20:5, Jer. 10:2-5, 2 Chron. 7:14, 1 Cor. 11:3-16, and the grand-daddy of them all, Rev. 22:18-19.

  2. Okay…I thought I was okay with the video, even through some of the grotesqueness…until the time when you can see the whole baby (i’ll spare the details for those choosing-and probably wisely so-not to watch)

    I had to shut it off. Disgusting (and not very indicative of “the essential goodness” of the action, either). Definitely “a shocking debate”…yikes.

  3. Rant time: it took an actual academic study to demonstrate the obvious: that sluts ruin it for the rest of us? I could have told you that as a teenager, when men who had been with easy women expected the same from me (and then dumped me when I didn’t do it).

    It leads to “Nice men finish last”, “women only want bad boys”, and other garbage – at best.

    At worst, which is frequently the case, men will simply say that they are unwilling to be in a chaste relationship, because they can get sex elsewhere very easily.

    As Wintery’s article notes, men can and do date younger women who are less secure and will put out more – which doesn’t work out well for anyone at all. Not for the older women (I’m now in that age range) who are trying to find someone, not for younger women who are being treated like unpaid prostitutes, not for men, who are inadvertently denying themselves the greatest happiness they can find because no one told them to stop acting like children and grow up.

    GRRRRRR.

    (As a PS – I’m in a relationship with a very nice man who fully supports waiting, and it’s just different than other relationships. At least part of that is because we don’t fight – about 90% of the fights I used to have with men were over sex, or something related to sex, and, well, take away the reason for 90% of the fights, and it’s much nicer.)

So, what do you think?

