Any AARP tips?

I turned 50 in January.  So what does the world do to celebrate 50 consecutive years of not dying?  (A new personal best, by the way — take that, haters!)

  1. You get to have the most fun medical procedure ever!  A colonoscopy!  Note to the medical community: You have 5 years to come up with a better way to prepare for it — or better yet, replace it with some sort of MRI-thing. 
  2. You get invited to join AARP.  Seriously?  I’m only 50!

I’m not a big fan of AARP’s politics, but I am a big fan of discounts.  And membership is relatively inexpensive.  So, AARP members, what benefits do you see with membership?  Do they have better deals on home and auto insurance?  Are there any travel benefits that are better than what AAA offers?  Anything else I should be aware of?

There is one other bonus: Our local outlet mall gives discounts to “seniors” like me on Tuesday nights.  Woo-hoo!

13 thoughts on “Any AARP tips?

  1. As for the fun medical test, there is a virtual colonoscopy, but I’m unimpressed. The prep for the test is the same and if they see something on the virtual test, they have to do the real one right after that. At least with the real test they can do it all at once. Great that you are giving them 5 years, I go back in 3 (I think part of that is delaying my initial test a couple of years).

    My wife joined AARP, but stopped paying dues after 1 year. I refused to join because of their political ideas. I use AAA discounts occasionally, but not as often as I’d like. I think there are some alternatives to AARP that are politically more in line with my thinking, but haven’t researched them.

  2. There is an alternative to AARP, called AMAC, which is a more conservative organization. Having just turned 58, I have not researched either one because I’m so young.

  3. I had my first colonoscopy at 55, because they were going to do and gastroscope to examine my esophagus (I have lots of GERD issues) and discovered I never had one. Since my dad died of colon cancer, I let them do the two at the same time. Prep was not a bit fun. They found some polyps so I had to go back in three years (2 1/2 years ago) and am now on the 5 year program because I was clean.

    As for AARP, my mom paid for a membership for me when I turned 50. After the first few issues of their magazine, I had to cancel. The rag was just stuffed with liberal ideology – including same-sex dating suggestions! I decided no matter what benefits were to be had, it wasn’t worth my getting their trash, and knowing that my mom spent money for it (she is a very, very far left liberal, who makes Obama look conservative). I was embarrassed that the mailman thought I supported that group!

    As for AAA discounts, etc, for our first few years of marriage (late 1970s), we were members and got the free maps and trip plans, etc, but I always did my own planning anyway. At the time we were also living payday to payday, and decided it was just one thing we could drop. Never had a need. For $10 a year I have free towing service with my car insurance. And I didn’t see anything in AARP advertisements which could beat any insurance I already have anyway.

  4. I’m not in the market for them myself, but I’m told that there are a number of conservative alternatives to the AARP, most of which seem to offer similar discounts. (I’m not specifically recommending these—I don’t know anything about them—just passing along the information.)

    Association of Mature American Citizens

    http://amac.us/

    Generation America

    http://generationamerica.org/

    American Seniors Association

    http://www.americanseniors.org/

    60-plus Association

    http://www.60plus.org/

  5. Supporting the AARP is along the lines of selling your birthright for a bowl of soup. Yeah, you get some benefits (though I bet not as many as appears at first blush), but you end up paying a lot more — in this case, by supporting an organization that supports just about everything you oppose, and have been instrumental in getting a lot of bad political stuff passed, using member dues. So they’ll use your money to fight against all you hold dear. It may seem like you’re just one person, so whether you join or not makes no difference in the grand scheme of things, but if it were me, I’d pass.

    • I couldn’t have said it better myself, if fact I couldn’t have said it as well, but I agree 100%.

      • I agree as well. They lie about the size of their organization and they supported Obamacare. Not a cent to them beyond the tax money they already get.

  6. The fact that you have gone 50 yrs without a colonoscopy is a blessing. I had my first at age 23 and will be due for another soon. Happy Birthday :)

    • They are not really bad except for the prep. The prep is just plan time lost out of your life that is not fun.But it is not something you ever want to do before you have to do it. But, like a lot of medical procedures, even though I might not want to do it, I am glad it is there if needed.

  7. AARP is about supporting seniors as much as Planned Parenthood is about women’s health. It is about bigger government and a liberal agenda. Now WITHIN the constantly bigger government that AARP advocates, it does indeed focus on insuring the growing government pie includes areas of interest for seniors. But as shown with the exact oppositely named Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) it is perfectly happy to advocate for larger government costing seniors more money for less benefit in order to grow overall government control and size.. I have never and will never join AARP as a member. Unfortunately, my tax dollars are being spend on supporting this organization already.

    Colonoscopy exams aren’t that bad. It is the prep that is bad.

So, what do you think?

