Rationalize all you like, but . . .

. . . immoral actions are still immoral actions.  Examine works like Macbeth, The Telltale Heart and Crime and Punishment and consider the themes.  People think they can get away with things because they have made careful excuses about them. But they are still wrong, and it haunts them.  At least it haunts some of them.  Some people have such seared consciences that they eventually are immune to guilt.

This happens all the time when people rationalize abortion as being good for the kids being killed.  Seriously, I’ve seen countless Christians say, “But otherwise they’d be poor!”  Note to self: Don’t take those people on mission trips.  At least not with any weapons.

It happens with divorce as well. “The kids will be better off this way.”  Isn’t it interesting how easy it is for people to indulge their desires while simultaneously crediting themselves with helping children?

It also happens with homosexuality and other sexual sins: They need to sleep together before marriage to ensure they are compatible, etc.  They say that if the sinful relationships are “committed and loving” then they are OK and the Bible is wrong.  Indeed.

We can all do this.  I joke that I have the spiritual gift of rationalization.  But that isn’t a good trait.  We should consume the word of God daily and strive to be conformed to his image.

3 thoughts on “Rationalize all you like, but . . .

  1. Your message might be a little more convicting if it hit a little closer to home.

    I need this new pair of Jeans, they are on sale after all…
    I deserve a new car, I have had mine for too many years…
    I shouldn’t give money to that person, I can’t be sure how they would spend it…
    I couldn’t love them, they are a homosexual…
    I will just take out another credit card to pay that off…
    We couldn’t welcome a single mother into our church, what would other people think…
    Starbucks every morning is my routine…
    I can’t give any more money, I have to save after all…
    We must attack Syria, if we don’t other countries might see us as weak…

    I just have an issue when we use examples of sin that most of are not guilty of as a way to single out “the sinners”.

So, what do you think?

